Thailand cancels visas-on-arrival and some visa exemptions for 21 countries

PHOTO: Arrivals at Suvarnabhumi Airport - Thailand News

On top of all the changes announced in the past few days for passengers arriving in Thailand, today the government has announced an additional measure. The Thai government has now cancelled the automatic granting of the visa-on-arrival for 18 countries as well as cancelling visa exemption for three other countries in additional efforts to contain the spread of the coronavirus.

In the past, nationals of 18 countries or territories could use their passports or travel documents to apply for the visa-on-arrival at any Thai immigration checkpoints.

The 18 countries or territories include Bulgaria, Bhutan, China, Taiwan, Cyprus, Ethiopia, Fiji, Georgia, India, Kazakhstan, Malta, Mexico, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan and Vanuatu.

Visa exemptions are being cancelled for South Korea, Italy and Hong Kong.

SOURCE: Reuters

Covid-19 NewsThailand NewsTourism NewsTravel

Join the conversation and have your say on Thailand news published on The Thaiger.

Thaiger Talk is our new Thaiger Community where you can join the discussion on everything happening in Thailand right now.

Please note that articles are not posted to the forum instantly and can take up to 20 min before being visible. Click for more information and the Thaiger Talk Guidelines.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


The Thaiger is Thailand's largest online portal for news, videos and information.

Leave a Reply