Coronavirus (Covid-19)Thailand

Thailand entry restrictions on African countries in response to Omicron

Screening at Bangkok's Suvarnabhumi Airport | Photo courtesy of the Suvarnabhumi Airport

In response to the emergence of the Omicron Covid-19 strain, which is designated by the World Health Organisation as a “variant of concern,” the Thai government has set a travel ban on those from eight African countries said to be of high risk of the newly found variant and imposed restrictions on those from other countries in Africa.

Issuance of the Thailand Pass QR code has been suspended for those travelling from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, and South Africa. The order is in effect until further notice. Thai nationals travelling from the high risk countries are allowed to return home.

Those from other African countries travelling to Thailand will need to undergo a quarantine period at a certified hotel or facility for 14 days. They will undergo three RT-PCR Covid-19 tests before being released. Those travellers are not eligible to enter under the “sandbox” scheme or Test & Go quarantine exemption programme.

Thailand entry restrictions on African countries in response to Omicron | News by Thaiger


Join the conversation and have your say on Thailand news published on The Thaiger.

Thaiger Talk is our new Thaiger Community where you can join the discussion on everything happening in Thailand right now.

Please note that articles are not posted to the forum instantly and can take up to 20 min before being visible. Click for more information and the Thaiger Talk Guidelines.

Caitlin Ashworth

Caitlin Ashworth is a writer from the United States who has lived in Thailand since 2018. She graduated from the University of South Florida St. Petersburg with a bachelor’s degree in journalism and media studies in 2016. She was a reporter for the Daily Hampshire Gazette In Massachusetts. She also interned at the Richmond Times-Dispatch in Virginia and Sarasota Herald-Tribune in Florida.