New OrBorJor council awaits approval

PHUKET CITY: Unconfirmed results from last Sunday’s Phuket Administration Organization (OrBorJor) elections saw the upstart Khon Baan Rao party, led by former senator Paiboon Upatising, sweep into power by winning seats in 16 of 24 voting precincts in Phuket.

Seven candidates running under the Democrat Party banner also won seats, along with one independent candidate.

All of the following official results as tabulated by the Phuket Election Committee still require final approval by the Election Commission in Bangkok before the winners can take office and convene the new provincial council.

Confirmation of the election results is expected to be announced before May 20.

If confirmed, the Khon Baan Rao candidates who will form the majority in the new OrBorJor council will be:

Saroj Angkalapilas (Muang District 2, Phuket City);

Boon-oom Auchittrakul (Muang District 3, Phuket City);

Prawit Sinsaowapak (Muang District 4, Phuket City);

Suppachoke La-Ongpet (Muang District 7, Koh Kaew);

Chiraprateep Nawarak ((Muang District 8, Rassada);

Chaiwat Sae-Tan (Muang District 9, Rassada);

Theera Chiasakul (Muang District 10, Wichit);

Pradit Sangchan (Muang District 11,Wichit);

Saman Karaket (Muang District 12, Wichit);

Suwit Wongwai (Muang District 13,Chalong);

Kraiwut Kumban (Muang District 14, Rawai);

Narong Singkhala (Thalang District 2, Mai Khao);

Sawat Matchawej (Thalang District 3, Pa Khlok);

Sanit Siriwat (Thalang District 5, Thepkrasattri);

Sakchai Chaowawai (Thalang District 6, Sakoo);

Boonyong Jirapisutikul (Kathu District 1, Kathu).

The winning Democrat Party members who will form the opposition are:

Somkuan Tansakul (Muang District 1, Samkong-Phuket City);

Hat Katanchaleekul (Muang District 5, Phuket City);

Pongsura Koopongsakorn (Muang District 6, Phuket City);

Pornthep Charmkhao (Muang District 15, Karon);

Anupab Wetwanichsanong (Thalang District 1, Srisoonthorn);

Prasan Prateep Na Thalang (Kathu District 2, Patong);

Sonthaya Suntharak (Kathu District 3, Kamala).

Of the independent candidates running for seats, the only winner was Sommit Suebsit, who ran in Thalang District 4, which covers most of Cherng Talay.

In Krabi, incumbent OrBorJor President and Rak Krabi leader Somsak Kittithorn garnered 96,779 votes to beat Democrat Party challenger and former MP Sasetthasit Sitthomon, who received 61,182 votes.

Rak Krabi retained a solid majority in the 24-seat assembly, winning 19 seats to just five for the Democrats. There were no independent candidates among the winners. Turnout was 64.3% of Krabi’s 269,568 eligible voters.

In Phang Nga, 51 candidates ran for 24 regular council seats, with Ruam Pattana candidates winning 13 seats. Other winners included 10 independent candidates and one member of Thai Muang Pattana.

The election for Phang Nga OrBorJor president will be held next year, after the term of current president Bamroong Piyanamvanich ends.

Overall, 41 OrBorJor elections took place last Sunday. None of the results have been confirmed by the Election Commission in Bangkok.

Phuket News

Join the conversation and have your say on Thailand news published on The Thaiger.

Thaiger Talk is our new Thaiger Community where you can join the discussion on everything happening in Thailand right now.

Please note that articles are not posted to the forum instantly and can take up to 20 min before being visible. Click for more information and the Thaiger Talk Guidelines.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Legacy Phuket Gazette

Archiving articles from the Phuket Gazette circa 1998 - 2017. View the Phuket Gazette online archive and Digital Gazette PDF Prints.

Leave a Reply