Japan adds Thailand to travel ban list, some exceptions

Stock photo by Gerrie van der Walt for Unsplash

Japan has barred the entry of foreigners who are travelling from Thailand and 6 other countries in an effort to slow the spread of Covid-19, particularly the more infectious variant first detected in India. The restrictions, adding to Japan’s long list of banned arrivals, go into effect today.

Foreigners who have been to Thailand,Cambodia, Sri Lanka, the Seychelles, Saint Lucia, East Timor and Mongolia 14 days prior to arrival will not be allowed to enter Japan under the added restrictions. Permanent residents and their families can also still enter Japan as well as those with special circumstances.

Foreign permanent residents of Japan who recently travelled to countries with high cases linked to the B.1.617 coronavirus variant, which was first found in India, are barred from re-entering Japan. Those, with the exception of Japanese citizens, who have been to India, Pakistan, Nepal, the Maldives or Bangladesh 14 days before arrival are not allowed to enter Japan.

Japanese citizens can still return home and must quarantine for 6 days at a certified facility after visiting at-risk countries.

Related news

Sources: Kyodo News

World News

Jack Connor

Jack is from the USA, has a B.A. in English, and writes on a variety of topics. He lives in Thailand.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply