Visa-on-arrival fee to double from Sept 27

PHUKET: The fee for visa on arrival in Thailand, enjoyed by citizens of 18 countries around the world, will double from 1,000 to 2,000 baht, with effect from September 27.

Visa on arrival is available at many points of entry throughout Thailand and is good for a single use.

The 18 countries on the list are Bulgaria, Bhutan, China, Cyprus, Ethiopia, India, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine, Uzbekistan and Taiwan.

The Foreign Ministry said in its announcement that the decision to hike the charge for this class of visa was based on what Thai embassies and consulates-general are collecting, to make the fee more comparable to what Thais pay when they travel to other countries.

— The Nation

Phuket News

Join the conversation and have your say on Thailand news published on The Thaiger.

Thaiger Talk is our new Thaiger Community where you can join the discussion on everything happening in Thailand right now.

Please note that articles are not posted to the forum instantly and can take up to 20 min before being visible. Click for more information and the Thaiger Talk Guidelines.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Legacy Phuket Gazette

Archiving articles from the Phuket Gazette circa 1998 - 2017. View the Phuket Gazette online archive and Digital Gazette PDF Prints.

Leave a Reply