Connect with us


Thai Rak Thai announces MP candidates



Thai Rak Thai announces MP candidates | Thaiger

PHUKET: The Thai Rak Thai Party has named its candidates for Phuket’s two parliamentary seats in the general election that must be held before the end of this year. Yada Palimapan, a member of the Provincial Administration Organization (OrBorJor), is to stand for Voting District 1, which covers Phuket Town apart from Tambon Rassada and Tambon Koh Kaew. Hiran Thepsiri-amnuoy will run for District 2, which covers the rest of the island. In order to run, K. Yada will resign from the OrBorJor. A date for the by-election to select her replacement has yet to be set. The Democrat Party has already named Suwit Sa-Ngiamkul as its candidate for Voting District 1. K. Suwit received the highest score in elections for members of the Phuket Town Municipality in December last year He has already resigned his municipal seat, and a by-election to replace him will take place on July 23. Five candidates have stepped forward so far: Mattanee Naweekarn of the Creative Party, Watchara Anantrakul of the Young People’s Party, and three independents, Pornsak Jarusarasootthikul, Weerasak Woranaetiwong, and Harn Akewanit. To date, there is no news on whether the current MP for Phuket, Anchalee Vanich-Thepbutr of the Democrats, will stand for election in Voting District District 2.


Get more from The Thaiger

Join the conversation and have your say on Thailand news published on The Thaiger.

Thaiger Talk is our new Thaiger Community where you can join the discussion on everything happening in Thailand right now.

Please note that articles are not posted to the forum instantly and can take up to 20 min before being visible. Click for more information and the Thaiger Talk Guidelines.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Archiving articles from the Phuket Gazette circa 1998 - 2017. View the Phuket Gazette online archive and Digital Gazette PDF Prints.

Follow Thaiger by email:

Pattaya6 mins ago

Raid roundup: Pattaya pubs, cannabis shops scrutinised

Crime1 hour ago

Loan shark sends goons to attack man in hospital and steal his car

Election2 hours ago

‘Big Joke’ goes back to school to hunt visa crooks

Sponsored1 day ago

Marketing in Thailand as a Foreigner: Volume #3 The Marketing Noises

Insurgency2 hours ago

Insurgent bomb derails train in Songkhla

Bangkok3 hours ago

Fire at Bangkok’s CentralWorld mall sends shoppers scurrying (video)

Video3 hours ago


Join the conversation on the Thaiger Talk forums today!
Transport3 hours ago

Disruptive Phuket-bound passenger thrown off flight in Karachi

Tourism4 hours ago

Air Canada’s Vancouver-Bangkok flight touches down Thailand

Bangkok Travel20 hours ago

Ari All Link is a must-attend skill-up workshop for Ari people

Cannabis News22 hours ago

Anutin responds to photo of cannabis smoking kids on Pattaya Beach

Education22 hours ago

Thai student allegedly raped by Hyderabad U professor

Tourism23 hours ago

Phuket welcomes 6,730 flights in December

Tourism24 hours ago

Thailand tourism predicted at 80% of pre-Covid in 2023

Transport1 day ago

Bangkok airport expansion prepares for bidding war

Crime1 day ago

Child Protection Foundation leader faces child labour charges

Thailand1 year ago

Morning Top Stories Thailand | Police to end protests, Human Trafficking | September 14

Thailand2 years ago

Thailand News Today | Thai Airways in rehab, All go for Songkran | March 4

Tourism2 years ago

Phuket’s nightlife. Yes, bars and clubs are still open | VIDEO

Phuket2 years ago

Thailand News Today | Covid passport talks, Thai Airways heads to court | March 2

Tourism2 years ago

Phuket Thai food treats you need to try | VIDEO

Thailand2 years ago

Thailand News Today | Bars, pubs and restaurants ‘sort of’ back to normal | Feb 23

Tourism2 years ago

In search of Cat & Dog Cafés in Phuket Town | VIDEO

Thailand2 years ago

Thailand News Today | Gambling crackdown, Seafood market to reopen, Vlogger challenge | Jan 21

Thailand2 years ago

Thailand News Today | Covid testing for visas, Business impact, Vaccine approval | January 19

Thailand2 years ago

Thailand News Today | Weekend Bangkok bombs, Thailand fires, Covid update | January 18

Thailand2 years ago

Thailand News Today | Stray car on runway, Indonesian quake, 300 baht tourist fee | January 15

Thailand2 years ago

Thailand News Today | Governor off respirator, sex-trafficking arrest, condo prices falling | January 14

Thailand2 years ago

Thailand News Today | Chinese vaccine, Thailand ‘drug hub’, Covid update | January 13

Thailand2 years ago

Thailand News Today | Bangkok may ease restrictions, Phuket bar curfew, Vaccine roll out | January 12

Thailand2 years ago

Thailand News Today | Covid latest, Cockfights closed down, Bryde’s Whale beached | January 11