Some stingray and sawfish species now declared ‘protected’

PHOTO: Green sawfish. Survival, Self Sufficiency and Sustainable Living

Some types of the stingray and sawfish family will now be declared as protected species.

The Thai Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment has now declared eight types of stingray and three types of sawfish as protected.

The Minister of Natural Resources and Environment Gen Surasak Kanchanarat issued a ministerial announcement to include eight types of stingray and three types of sawfish in the list of protected species.

Declared as protected species are curve-fin ghost stingray, short-fin ghost stingray, thorny-tail ghost stingray, Manda stingray, Giant Manda stingray, fresh-water Rahu stingray, Chaophraya stingray, Ronin stingray, green sawfish, sharp-mouth sawfish, small-teeth sawfish and giant sawfish.

The ministerial announcement will become effective 60 days after its publication in the Royal Gazette.


NewsThailand News
Click to comment

Leave a Reply


If you have story ideas, a restaurant to review, an event to cover or an issue to discuss, contact The Thaiger editorial staff.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply